The places you can go

Never growing up…
There’s a song called Lost Boy by Ruth B. that I’ve been listening to a lot recently. These are the lyrics from the chorus:

“I am a lost boy from Neverland.
Usually hanging out with Peter Pan.
And when we’re bored we play in the woods,
Always on the run from Captain Hook.
Run, run lost boy, they say to me,
Away from all of reality.
Neverland is home to lost boys like me,
And lost boys like me are free.”

There’s something about this song that resounds deeply with me.
I’ve always found the times of childhood when your imagination is through the roof very significant. It’s such a simple joy and freedom when you can run around in the woods that is your backyard.

I remember as a kid I could go from normal to a fantasy in a heartbeat. The depths of imagination were always at my fingertips.

As I’ve gotten older I can tell I have to dig a little bit more to find that same place of imagination… And now when I find a little of it, the depths don’t seem as endless and expansive as they used to…It’s easy to lose your imagination when the reality of life is always at the forefront of your mind.

I don’t have a fact, reference, or reason, but I know there’s something significant about the imagination we have when we’re young. It might be pretty difficult for some, but when you get the chance, find the second star to the right, and follow it straight on till morning. image

Leave a Reply

