Be grateful

  A few days ago a friend came by my store with his pastors from Uganda. They were in need of phones and so we got them set up with some and were making small talk in the process. My friend saw my apple watch on my wrist and started asking questions about it. I told him about the convenience in the day to day and the activity tracking ability but I did’t really think it was worth $400. All three of them laughed at the price of it. They then proceeded to tell me that $400 US would translate into the equivalent of six months rent in Uganda…That it was enough to start a small business, pay for food for a family for a substantial period of time… etc.

It was extremely humbling to speak to these people who could transfer something I wore merely for the “cool” factor into a huge sum of money in their country.
I did a little bit of research and found that if you make over $34,000 a year that you are in the top 1% of the world.

The top 1%… Of everyone on the earth right now.

Don’t take what you have for granted. As Americans what we consider to be poor is better than the vast majority of everyone else… 
Be grateful for what you’ve been given and the opportunities that you have. You have it far better than the majority of people out there. 

Leave a Reply

