What I want to do.

Recently I started a course by Seth Godin about how to be a freelancer. One of the assignments was to answer these questions and post them publicly.
That is what I am doing. Enjoy.
What do you want to do?
I want to write. I want to write books that people recommend to others because it changed their life.
Books about the Lord, motivation, discipline, different aspects of God, a way that we should live our lives in order to see change around us. I want to be a conduit for people to see change and growth in their own lives.
I want to speak at different types of events as well. Accomplishing the same things as the books. Changing lives, inspiring and motivating, bringing change to the places that matter in people’s lives.
I don’t want to reach people on a shallow level, but on a deeper level that brings change.
Who do you want to change, and how do you want to change them?
I want to bring change to the people who are willing to be changed.-At least through my writing and speaking.
In my life on a personal level I would also like to see change take place for people when they are guarded, and wanting to hold on to their bad choices. I believe that a lot of the time when people are in that spot they must have one-on-one guidance.
How for the writing and speaking explains itself.
For those who are not the most open to change I want to make it happen through relationship. Through consistent engagement and encouragement in their lives.
How much are you willing to risk? From 1 (A little) to 10 (Bet everything), how much are you willing to put at stake to make the change you seek?
Most people would want to put a 10, but I don’t think that I’m really there. I would say 8 or 9. I am willing to lose my place of living, and go through some poor spots, but I would not ever want to put my relationship with my wife in jeopardy. Right after God, she is what matters the most to me-way more than accomplishing my goals, I want to take care of her.
How much work are you willing to do to get there? Be specific about the tradeoffs.
I’m willing to say no to time spent with friends, family, but as said in the previous answer, my wife is priority #2 after the Lord.
I’m willing to devote a multiplicity of hours to my craft and see it get closer to perfection (Which I know is far) and have the patience to continue working even when I don’t see the immediate results.
Does this project matter enough for the risk and the effort you are willing to put into it?
It really only matters enough when the goal is accomplished of making a lasting impact in people’s lives. In which case-yes.
Is it possible? Has anyone with your resources ever pulled off anything like this?
Yes. There are plenty of people with fewer resources than I have that have accomplished far more.
In all honesty, since that is the case, I may not be dreaming high enough…
Oh, may my dreams match the capability that the Lord has given me, and if they don’t may He quickly let me know.
Leave a Reply

