Sickness and Serenity

This past weekend I was sick with something. I don’t know what it was specifically but it was terrible. I slept for most of the weekend just trying to get better. I hated every second of it and I was miserable. Didn’t feel like I could help out around the house, couldn’t give Hannah a break from taking care of William, I really felt… worthless. By Wednesday I felt back to my normal self- energetic, felt like I could help out and be useful again.

It made me think about two things, there are people who feel like I did over the weekend all the time, and how much I take my health for granted.

First, the fact that there are people who feel far worse than I did this weekend and feel that way all the time. It made me empathize for them. But it also made me respect the people who are in that constant pain and continue to be cheerful. (I definitely failed in that!)

Second, that I can live my life pain free, is something to be grateful for. Take notice of it. Don’t take it for granted. Take care of yourself, eat better, drink water, get off your butt and do something active…. A lot of people lose that pain free aspect of life due to apathy.

Recognize the gifts you have- and be grateful.

Take a second to thank the Lord for all that He has provided and all of the good He has done. It’s a worthwhile thing to do with your time.

Gratitude is a recognition of reality, and it’s extremely healthy.

Leave a comment